Printed from StreetEasy.com at 06:50 PM, Oct 25 2014
Talk » Sales » Discussing 'how do you tip a parking attendant?'

how do you tip a parking attendant?
SAVE    RSS

65 comments

I'm new to the whole having a car in a garage in manhattan thing. For those of you who have monthly spots in garages: do you tip the attendant who gets your car every time they get it, or do you tip them monthly, every 6 months, around X-mas time? How much?

everyone's input is appreciated.

Thinking it would be fairer if each attendant received the same amount I did not tip daily but waited to give them a nice xmas bonus. The result... one of them stole my E-ZPass. Because the manager gave me a refund for the cost of the pass ($23) I now tip $2 each time I pick up.

I get my car in and out about 2 times a week on average. I tipped three day workers $50, the night worker (whom I rarely see) $40, and the manager $75 at Christmas. They have treated me like the President since then. My feeling was the difference between average tips and generous tips was about $75 which means little to me and a great deal to them.

Ignored comment. Unhide
Ignored comment. Unhide

I used several "manned" lots and no matter what I tipped, they treated my car like crap. Now I park in an "unmanned" garage with an assigned space. It is so wonderful. No one touches my car but me. It doesn't get started and moved 25 times a day even when I'm not using it. I never find "stuff" in my car that wasn't there when I left it. I never find stuff missing. My bumpers aren't terribly scraped up. I have to walk a few extra blocks than the nearest garage to me, but boy is it worth it. (and there's no one to tip)

Ignored comment. Unhide