Printed from StreetEasy.com at 01:40 PM, Oct 30 2014
Talk » Rentals » Discussing 'UWS rental-broker or not'

UWS rental-broker or not
SAVE    RSS

20 comments

Hi all, Am I likely to find a good prewar rental by searching here and other sites, or do I need a broker? Looking for a classic six. On the opposite end of the spectrum are the modern rentals which seem priced higher but have no fee. What's the best approach if we're looking to stay a year or two but want something with community/home feel? Thanks.

feel free to email me at ccapitummino@mpi-re.com. I work for the management company that owns and manages many buildings in NYC. I can let you know of our availabilities.

Thank you,

Hi Lany, I'm an agent at Douglas Elliman, and hopefully my insights from being on the job for a number of years can help you out. This is my first comment on streeteasy, so bear with me if i haven't refined my concise, pithy posting style yet!

The biggest factor, i've found, that motivates the "broker vs. no broker" decision is *time*. You need to be in a month to month situation (or a stable ongoing living arrangement of some kind) that affords you the ability to wait for units to pop-up that you have access to without paying a fee. You also need the time to spend constantly trawling listings on craigslist, streeteasy, nybits, etc, to get the listing before the hordes of other renters do. If you don't have both these luxuries (ie: you have a really busy job during the day or you *need* to be out of your apartment on a certain date) it really is important to have a broker who can alert you in real time to something that fits you.